When should I practice with my club and a ball?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Tathata Staff Tathata Staff 8 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • When should I practice with my club and a ball?

I am a total novice golfer, and started the 60 day program a few days ago. I am assuming that I will make the most progress if I learn the correct movements BEFORE I attempt to actually hit a ball. As I look ahead in the program, I am wondering how far into the program I will be when the pieces will be in place to try hitting.

Great question Elinor! On Day 11, we start to incorporate the hands and arms into the training. You will need a 7-iron or “golf club” equivalent on this day. Although you don’t HAVE to go hit golf balls outside for this training program to help you improve, feel free to take your training to the golf course or practice tee anytime!

#BecomeYourGreatness

-Tathata Staff

I was mostly concerned that I don’t want to ingrain my bad movements into my swing, so I want to wait until I am moving correctly. I will plan on hitting some balls next week after day 11.

Thanks for the info!

What is the best way to transition from the “old” swing to the “new” swing? How do the Samurai’s do it?

I am on day 12 and continue to practice the movement illustrated in the videos until I think I got it. I have also taken the swing to the mat and practice the moves between swings. What I have noticed is the swing “feels” different than my previous swing, however, when I look at the video, I do not see a significant difference. For example, I start our with short pitches to work on the lower body and keep the back foot planted on the ground on impact with out a problem. When I move to my full 7i, however, the back foot starts to lift just prior to impact so obviously I have not engrained the “surf” movement.

Shonn,